Coconut haupia/ Traditional hawaiian coconut pudding

Hawaiian delights

I tasted some island cuisine in Maui…of course, there were too many delicious varieties. I readily admit that I was on an eating spree.

1 waveOn the day of our arrival, we attended a luau, which is a traditional party/feast with Hawaiian music and dance (hula and fire dance). At the entrance we were adorned with an orchid garland and greated to the feast. I was spell bound by the taste of food and drinks…especially Mai Tai, a cocktail made of rum, Curaçao liqueur and lime juice topped with a decorative orchid flower.

The best part of the party was a coconut dessert which tasted like the essence of Hawaii. It was very close to my palate, although I could not guess all the ingredient that went into it.  Later, I found out that it is called Coconut Haupia, a traditional Hawaiian coconut pudding. It was creamy, smooth and solid enough to hold. I did not take a picture of it as I thought it would look silly, but repented later. So after that, whenever the light was good enough, I took pictures like crazy. Hawaiians are very warm people and always excuse a tourist!

1 rice mango pudding

Mango rice pudding

1 panna cota

Coconut milk panna cota

1 pine crisp

Pineapple crisp

1 brown butter cake

Almond, brown butter cake

1 pina

Pinacolada

1 f

Veggie pasta

1 fish

Fish Main dish

1 cake

Chocolate brownie cake

Hawaii 112

Ice creams at a local store

IMG_4006

Coconut icecream with roasted coconut bits

1 mai t breadI found this at Coconut Glen’s ice cream shop on the way to Hana, the beautiful town on the hill. I searched for a recipe online and could not find one. Maybe it is his own special recipe. I am planning to cook up my own recipe and if it turns out well, I will surely post it here.

Coconut Haupia

Making this very popular Hawaiian dessert, Haupia was quite simple.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups thick coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp corn flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  1. Mix cornflour and water to make a watery paste.
  2. Boil coconut milk with the remaining water.
  3. When it boils, add cornflour mix.
  4. Add sugar and keep stirring until it thickens.
  5. Grease a rectangular container with coconut oil and pour the thickened mixture. (The mixture should slide down slowly.)
  6. Spoon the rest of the pudding and level the top.
  7. Allow it to cool with a loose lid on it allowing the steam to escape.
  8. Store in a refrigerator for an hour and cut it into small squares or rectangle.

1 paste

1 pudding

Coconut Haupia

Everyone who tasted it had a word of approval as it was melting on their tongue. This dessert is sweet with the right consistency and smoothness making it a real pleasure.

1 hi

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Cake, Coconut, comfort food, Dessert, Easy recipe, Finger food, Not just for kids, Pudding and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coconut haupia/ Traditional hawaiian coconut pudding

  1. I am going crazy looking at the pics of the various desserts you have posted…. 🙂 I could not believe my eyes on how simple the Haupia recipe was. I read it twice just to make sure I did not miss something.

    Delicious and a desserts that befits your blog title.

    Will try it soon!

    Like

  2. Everything looks yummy! And that coconut haupia looks delicious, I’m going to have to give it a try. I love coconut too.

    Like

  3. coconutcraze says:

    Yes, it is simple and delicious. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment