Thai red curry with rice noodles

I have always loved Thai food and steer my family towards Thai restaurants when we go out for food. I like the flavor of its sweet sauces and spicy curry paste.

thai curry 1Recently, I attended an engagement party held at a Thai restaurant hall. A menu filled with meat, shrimp and fish greeted us. My husband looked at me pointing at it and smiled his wicked smile. I do not give up so easily! ‘There will be something vegetarian…at least a salad’, I murmured. I relaxed and enjoyed the event which was quite lovely.

When the food arrived the waiting staff were so friendly and I chatted with them. I whispered to the young man that I could only have vegetables without any fish or meat sauce or stock. He smiled and disappeared. Other guests at the table became very helpful too. When a mango salad arrived the first person to taste it told me it was vegetarian. There was a long row of seats and he brought soups in circular bowls. After a while he brought a triangular bowl with a lovely vegetarian soup containing coconut milk, peanuts and all things delicious. I was thrilled when I tasted it. Perfect!

After that, while serving every meal he was very particular to bring a different shaped plate or container and was very attentive. They even joked by placing a glass of water and mentioning ‘totally vegetarian’. I assume, the bride and groom to be did not have so much attention at their table. I loved that special attention!

I was impressed by all the food served. So, ignoring my husband’s knotted brows, I carried a menu to try some dishes at home. (The things we bloggers do are sometimes crazy!)

Thai curry with shrimp on rice noodlesI bought a packet of Thai red curry paste and made a hot Thai curry with rice noodles. I thought of making it as a vegetarian dish but taking others into consideration I cooked some shrimp in a little curry paste separately and added to the bowl.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 carrot
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 packet firm tofu
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Thai red curry paste
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  •  few shrimps (10-12)
  • 1/2 packet rice noodles (200 grams)
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 lime
  • few cilantro leaves
  1. Take cleaned shrimp and add a tbsp of red curry paste, close it with a lid and let it marinate for 10 minutes.
  2. Bring a large pot of water to boil and add noodles and cook uncovered for 2 minutes.
  3. Drain water and add 1 tsp sesame oil to coat the noodles.
  4. Chop carrot at an angle and cut red bell pepper and onion into squares.
  5. Wash firm tofu and cube it.
  6. Heat sesame oil in a wok  and add chopped vegetables and crushed garlic.
  7. Cook until red pepper turn to a brighter color.
  8. Add tofu, red curry paste, brown sugar and soy sauce and stir gently to combine well.
  9. Pour the coconut milk to the wok, add salt, stir well and heat it.
  10. Mix well and serve on top of cooked rice noodles.
  11. In another pan stir marinated shrimp in 1 tbsp oil until it cooks.
  12. Add this to the bowl of curried tofu and vegetables on top of noodles.
  13. Garnish with cilantro and a dash of lime juice.

This curry paste made it very spicy that you have to use it with caution! So add curry paste according to need. It is a vegetarian curry if you stop at step 10. This curry had the taste of Thai ingredients like galangal, basil and lemon grass which made it smell amazing and taste authentic. Thai currySpoon some piping hot curry on to the soft noodles in a large bowl. Garnish with cilantro and serve with a squeeze of lime. thai curry3A quick Thai curry with vegetables, tofu and shrimps is a very satisfying meal. Enjoy!

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Curry, Easy recipe, International dishes, Main dish, Stir fry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thai red curry with rice noodles

  1. Traditionally Modern Food says:

    Wow Thai food is my fav too.. Coconut milk takes the food to next level.. With rice noodles curry looks perfect

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Padma says:

    Thai food is my favourite, especially I like the red curry since it is spicy!!..Lovely clicks dear:)..Prawns are my favourite too!!…but I would love to have it with rice though;-)….YUM YUM!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Prawns and noodles my fav combo in thai cuisine!Yours looks so inviting!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loretta says:

    What a wonderful dish, the colors are so vibrant, and the noodles and shrimp are a match made in heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. MSS says:

    Prawns and noodles.. Slurp slurp! Looks great!! Perfect color 👍

    Like

  6. Love the combo of curry and rice noodles there….

    Like

Leave a comment