Mini pizzas/Fruity pizzas

Dessert pizza medallions

Mini fruity pizzasLong weekends are always busy with many plans, visitors and a lot of cooking. This weekend was quiet and I have to make maximum use of it. Yesterday, I launched a cleaning campaign at home. Everyone chipped in to help me with the Spring cleaning, half heartedly in the beginning but completely involved as it took momentum. It was a thorough job removing furniture, carpets and washing all drapes. We could not do the windows so it is pushed to next weekend. Work was delegated and I enjoyed the confusion and screaming because it gave me a spotless home by lunch time. After the kitchen was cleaned, I delegated duties and slipped away to make lunch. To appreciate the hard work put in by family, I made them a special treat. I wanted my cleaning team to have a special thank you note!

I like to make pizza dough at home as I find it to my taste. When I make pizza dough, I immediately bake the crust and save them in my freezer for later use. Last time, I made two medium size pizzas and used the remaining dough to make some mini pizza crusts.  The extra dough was rolled flat and cut into small circles.

Pizza dough was made from a recipe in the book, ‘One crust 100 pizzas’. This crust recipe is easy and it turns out pretty good. I have used it to make my crust many times with satisfactory result.

Pizza dough

  • 2½ cups white bread flour/all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ¾ cup lukewarm water
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  1. Sift the flour into a bowl.
  2. Make a well in the center of the flour and add yeast, sugar and salt.
  3. Mix oil, lukewarm water and pour into the bowl.
  4. Combine the flour into a sticky dough.
  5. Lightly flour your hands and the work surface to knead the dough for about 10 minutes, until it is elastic and smooth.
  6. After greasing the bowl, transfer the dough to it.
  7. Cover the bowl with oiled plastic wrap and let it rise for an hour in a warm place.
  8. When the dough has doubled in size, divide the dough into small balls.
  9. Take a ball and roll it into a thin circle.
  10. Using a cookie cutter or bottle lid cut small medallions.
  11. Roll the trims into a ball and cut circles again.
  12. Place them on a greased baking tray.
  13. Poke the center of the medallions with the tines of a fork.
  14. Preheat oven to 425° F and bake for 10 minutes or until the bottom turns golden.

I had plans to make bite size pizzas. So I froze the baked medallions in a plastic bag for future use.

Those mini pizza crusts were my inspiration for this dessert. My daughter suggested the cheese and fruit combination. I baked them into small dessert pizza medallions. It had a delicious serving of plums on a bed of fresh cheese.

Pizza assembly

IngredientsIngredients

  • slices of fresh mozzarella cheese
  • 2 plums pitted and sliced
  • 1 tbsp dried basil
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • few drops of balsamic vinegar
  • 6 mini pizza medallions
  1. Preheated oven at 350° F.
  2. Take each pizza medallion and place a slice of mozzarella cheese.
  3. Top it with slices of plums.
  4. Drizzle honey, vinegar and sea salt.
  5. Sprinkle some dried basil and transfer to a parchment paper lined baking tray.
  6. Repeat with all and bake them for 10 minutes until cheese melts.
  7. Remove it from oven and serve them warm.

HoneyThe frozen mini crusts were very handy. I assembled the fruity pizza medallions and with another quick bake it was ready to be served.

Fruity pizzaThese pizza bites are a cheese lovers delight because of the melted mozzarella on top. My son was partial to that part of it. It is rich with its sweet, sour and salty mishmash of tastes.

Try it as a simple dessert for the weekend or to celebrate any special occasion. Consider it a finger food or appetizer for a change too.

three pizzasWhen served still warm out of the oven it tastes delicious. It is quite hard to resist eating just one. Cheers!

I would like to link this to party at Fiesta Friday #62

Fiesta Friday Badge Button Click to join

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Baked, Brunch, Cheese, comfort food, Dessert, Easy recipe, Finger food, Pack-and-go snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mini pizzas/Fruity pizzas

  1. Wow these pizza looks damn cute…. yummm

    Like

  2. These are so beautiful and what lovely photography! This looks so delicious and unique. Great recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very very unusual (for me at least). Looks delicious and lovely to see you post so often. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. coconutcraze says:

    This pizza was my daughter’s idea! If I get such inspirations I will plunge into action. You are a main motivation behind my energy to post often. Thank you, Aruna!

    Like

  5. Jess says:

    These pizza look great- very cute and dainty. Happy Easter and Fiesta Friday weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lili says:

    Just saw these again and realised what an interesting combination of flavours there are! Yum! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. apsara says:

    Love the idea of freezing pizza crusts for later use. Very novel idea to turn it into a dessert. Looks delish!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jhuls says:

    These are so gorgeous!!! Love the photos, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Loretta says:

    What a brilliant and unusual combination – I’m sure it tasted yummy with the sweet and sour flavors going on. It reminds me that I need to pull out my fruit pizza recipe for the summer too. I don’t make the crust though, I use cookie dough, cream cheese and an array of fruit. When our girls were growing up, they loved this. I’ve bookmarked yours for something different.

    Like

  10. coconutcraze says:

    Thank you, Loretta! I am eager to see your fruit pizza recipe!

    Like

Leave a comment