Sunday Funday #6

Bird watching is an interesting thing! We have to wait patiently to get their pictures though! Capturing the little birds is harder as they keep moving and flapping.Golden finchLast evening, I was in my backyard and saw three beautiful finches actively pecking on the mulberry branches. I got a shot of this golden finch that was feasting on ripe mulberries. Its beak looks hazy, smudged with berry juice. I used a zoom lens, but the movement of the birds and the swaying branches made it quite a task to capture it. The background is our neighbors roof. It was cloudy and the evening sun was hitting the right spots to boost those colors.

FinchEarlier, I found this finch on a branch of our Cedar tree. I clicked it stealthily from a window. But, it was observing me!

EagleSoaring eagle!

European starling I thought it was a young grackle. My son pointed out that it has yellow beak and should be the European starling. I stand corrected now, it is an adult male Starling! Last year, I saw an adult pair of grackle in my yard and to my utter surprise the male bird went into a beautiful mating dance spreading out its wing. I could not take a shot of its peacock blue feather display because it was an unexpected sight!

geeseOur Canadian geese with chicks, enjoying a family outing!

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Funday #6

  1. Sandhya says:

    Beautifully captured!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wow awesome creature…..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Loretta says:

    Gorgeous photography! I too love birds and watching them from my window, love those finches too, aren’t they just adorable. Have you ever captured a hummingbird in action? They are so hard to follow aren’t they? I have tried capturing all that nature provides us with in the garden, I think my best shots have been of butterflies though, I have some bird photos, but not as brilliant as yours. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • coconutcraze says:

      I have some humming birds visiting once the hibiscus near my window starts blooming. They get very close but highly difficult to shoot. I just sit there and enjoy watching them! Maybe, I need a better camera for that fast motion. I would love to see your captures, Loretta!

      Like

  4. coconutcraze says:

    Thank you, Vidya. This is one of the reasons why I like this season!

    Like

  5. Sophie33 says:

    Cool fun photos of the wildlife! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

