Basil pesto/ Sensational basil seasoning

Pesto with pistachio nuts

basil plant

Basil plant in a small pot from my garden

I was introduced to the taste of sweet basil after I came to Canada and I have fallen for it. I have heard the name basil and associated it with holy basil (Tulasi) that is grown in every home as a reverent plant and worshipped by Hindus in India. I guessed sweet basil might also taste like it with a strong smell and astringent taste but the flavour and smell is totally a pleasant surprise.

After buying a lot of packets of this delicate herb and being captivated by its fragrant leaves, I decided to grow some this year. At the gentlest touch, the leaves release a delicate mesmerizing smell. It is quite a sensational seasoning herb and has anti inflammatory and antibacterial properties. It has several minerals and good for heart health so I recommended it to all friends.

Pesto is a popular seasoning in pasta dishes and the best way to include basil in our diet. It can also be used as a spread on brushetta and sandwiches. Salads and soups can have a flavourful start with a sprinkle of shredded basil leaves.

Basil combined with garlic, pine nuts, olive oil and cheese is a combination of all super healthy ingredients. I am a hard core fan of pesto but sometimes I have to postpone the preparation when I run short of pine nuts. Pine nuts turn rancid if stored for a long time even in the refrigerator. Alternately, I use almonds and cashew but the best nut enhancing its colour is pistachio. We have adopted this to be a regular seasoning at home as my daughter loves it.

blender

Basil pesto

pestoIngredients

  • 1 bunch basil leaves
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 10 pistachio nuts cracked
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp Parmesan cheese
  1. Clean the basil leaves and skin garlic cloves.
  2. Put them in a blender and add pistachio nuts
  3. Blend it by adding olive oil little by little.
  4. Collect the pesto when it is a coarse paste and transfer to a bowl.
  5. Add salt and grated Parmesan cheese and mix well.

Normally, pesto is added at the end of cooking or its volatile oils are lost by heat. Its rich aroma and flavour adds a distinct irresistible taste.

IMG_8795I used this seasoning in pasta with a lot of roasted vegetables. Planning to post that recipe soon.

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Pesto and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Basil pesto/ Sensational basil seasoning

  1. Lovely! I’ll try this combination because pine nuts are sometimes hard to find.

    Like

  2. eclecticlamb says:

    Your photos are stunning they “pop”. I love the cultural components of your posts. I enjoy learning something new from you. I don’t have a problem with rancid pine nuts because if I have them leftover from a recipe, I can’t stop eating them.

    Like

  3. Bharathy says:

    Look at that bowl! So yummm and natural! i am keeping on telling my husband about pesto pasta combo but hadnt tried yet! you tempt me to do though I have no basil in my herb garden!!

    Like

    • coconutcraze says:

      Eating raw garlic and green basil is undoubtedly the healthiest. Adding the flavours of olive oil and nuts just make it all the more tasty. Btw, growing basil is super easy…needs sun and other basic requirements. I have 5 plants and it supplied leaves throughout summer.

      Like

  4. Balvinder says:

    This is indeed sensational. You know I love pesto and now I am going to make it with pine nuts, much healthier and low fat.

    Like

  5. radhika25 says:

    Looks great! I make it with walnuts sometimes. Will try pistachios too- never thought of that!

    Like

  6. afracooking says:

    I love that you use pistachio instead of pine nuts. I must try that sometime!!

    Like

  7. Sophie33 says:

    Your basil pistachio pesto looks so tasty & appetizing too! I love it! Yummm! This would be great on lamb too! Yum!

    Like

  8. Stephany says:

    Hi there, I enjiy readinng all oof your post.
    I likke to writee a lijttle commment to support you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

