Okra and potato stir fry/ Lady’s finger and potato dry fry/ Vendaikai curry

Slimy Okra and firm potato fry

Hey, I am still around. I was caught in a web of activities. Our house was on sale and there were showing at all odd times. I had to do my best to make it appealing to the buyers. On some days there would be more than 3 potential buyers throwing me off balance. Phew, it is finally sold and I have to manage it for a few more days before we move. The next week will be spent working my butt off vigourously packing and cleaning. Everyone who has moved knows that it is going to be a pain in every part of the body. But I am a bold little warrior as this is my 5th move in 6 years. Bravo!

In the meantime, my cooking for survival had to be put on the back burner on most days. We had to depend on friendly interventions or go out for food. On one such outing I had lunch at a Pakistani restaurant and I liked their okra and potato stir fry. My normal style is frying thinly sliced okra with green chillies and coconut flakes. Boring! So I tried this from what I could recollect.

1 okrOkra is the slimiest vegetable and gets pretty messy while chopping and cooking. It tastes delicious with a distinct aroma when crisping and browning in oil. When we lived in Kenya our pet, Scooby would respond positively to the smell of okra by incessant barking and happily enjoy the hot spicy fry after I have cooked. Frying on low heat browns it to a lovely texture and taste.

I cannot say my cooking came to an abrupt halt in the past few days but photographing it was impossible as all shooting accessories were packed up and stored in the basement. To set up the camera and table I had to put in some extra effort but I enjoyed my laziness! Now I have a small window of 10 days with no strangers inspecting the house which will give me some hobby time.

Ingredients

  • 20 Okras (lady’s finger)
  • 1 large potato
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • ½ tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • ½ tsp turmeric powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ghee or butter
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  1. Wash okras and dry them on a towel to avoid being slimy when chopping.
  2. Remove head (stalk portion) and tail and chop each okra into small pieces.
  3. Heat oil in a nonstick pan and crackle cumin seeds.
  4. Fry the okra pieces till they soften.
  5. Add all the powders and salt.
  6. Cook diced potato with some water in a separate pan. (Can microwave for 3 minutes on high power)
  7. When potato is almost cooked add this to the okra pan.
  8. Cover the pan with a lid and allow it to cook stirring occasionally.
  9. Turn off the stove when cooked and add a dash of butter or ghee for that extra flavour.
  10. Then sprinkle lemon juice and garnish with cilantro leaves if desired.

1 okra stir fry

After cooking and taking pictures I remembered that there were onions in the restaurant okra stir fry. Oops, maybe next time!

1 okra stirWhen young we wouldn’t eat this slimy vegetable. My mother used to say it increases brain power and compelled us to eat it for good grades in Math. This trick did not work with my kids though!

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Curry, Side dish, Stir fry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Okra and potato stir fry/ Lady’s finger and potato dry fry/ Vendaikai curry

  1. One of my favourites…. More importantly, a great favourite with my newly acquired cook….. 🙂 Congratulations on selling the house and all the best for the move!

    Like

  2. jenyjohn says:

    Congratulations on the sell and move to a new house…..:)..The recipe sounds great….

    Like

  3. coconutcraze says:

    The recipe was simple but the thrill was learning something different!

    Like

Leave a Reply

