Spicy beetroot pie/Hand held beetroot pie

1 beetroot pi

Can I have some Spring please!

It is quite true that Spring is very reluctant to arrive here. The weather is not seeming to improve.  I was not amused by the snow flurries yesterday or the bone chilling cold today. A random guy on a News channel was asked to convey his feeling on the lingering cold weather. He moaned…”Go away Winter! We are done! Thanks for coming! Good bye! Come again next year!” That is exactly reflecting my sentiments too!

Spring is nowhere in sight and I am feeling the urge to see some colours. I don’t want to whine about things not under my control or those that I cannot change. So, I tried to make life a bit colourful by visiting the garden center and bought a batch of red primulas for some instant gratification. There is room for hope as all stores have stocked some beautiful flowering plants.

1 Primula

I made this pie with spicy beetroot filling to shoo away the winter blues and essentially for the colour!

1 beet pie

Pie pastry – Ingredients

  • 1 1/4  cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup cold butter
  • 1/4 cup ice cold water
  1. Mix four, salt and sugar.
  2. Add butter and mix gently with a pastry blender to crush the butter to pea sized pieces.
  3. Drizzle cold water and mix until the dough comes together.
  4. Gently shape it into a ball.
  5. Put it in a ziplock bag/plastic wrap and store it in the refrigerator for 30 minutes -1 hour.

Filling – Ingredients

  • 2 beetroots
  • 1 big onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tsp coriander powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp red chilli powder
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • salt

Preparation

  1. Heat a pan and add olive oil. ( I′m including healthy fats when possible.)
  2. Add chopped garlic and onion and fry until transparent.
  3. Place chopped beet root pieces in food processor and chop roughly until it looks like minced meat.
  4. Fry this with the onions in the pan until liquid evaporates and the mixture becomes dry.
  5. Add all the powders and cook well till a pleasant spicy flavour develops.
  6. Allow it to cool.

1 snacks

Pie assembly

  1. Preheat oven to 400° F.
  2. Remove the cold pie dough from the plastic bag and divide into 5 equal parts.
  3. With the rolling pin gently flatten it.
  4. Cut circles with the sharp edges of a steel round container.
  5. Remove the excess and collect all the pieces to make another pie. ( This recipe makes 6 pies.)
  6. Put the filling in half the circle and close with the other half.
  7. Seal the edges with the tines of a fork leaving its marks.
  8. Mix 1 tbsp egg with some water and brush on top of the pies.
  9. Arrange the pies on a baking tray lined with parchment paper or silicon baking mat.
  10. With a sharp knife make 3 cuts on the pie for steam vent.
  11. Bake for 22-25 minutes or until top browns. ( I baked it for 22 minutes and broiled it on high for 3 minutes.)
  12. Allow it to cool on a wire rack and enjoy the spicy aromatic pies.

1 beetroot pie

1 b pie flaky

IMG_3543

I have never made pies before considering the preparation to be very complex. This pie is not difficult to make and tastes delicious with all the hidden goodness of beetroots.  The original recipe  on yumsugar is double the quantity of ingredients for the pie pastry. I have to watch my weight so I made only 6 pies.

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Baked, Snack and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spicy beetroot pie/Hand held beetroot pie

  1. offmotorway says:

    Beetroot pie! What a fantastic idea – can’t wait to try it.

    Like

  2. coconutcraze says:

    Approved wholeheartedly by the entire family. It is really good…I can bet on it!

    Like

  3. Balvinder says:

    I use beet only in juices, If by mistake I cut it in a salad then I am the only one who will eat it. I should try cooking it spicy. Seems like a wonderful and healthy idea!

    Like

    • coconutcraze says:

      Oh, I can totally agree with you! When I was young I added a few pieces of beet into a curry and the whole thing turned blood red. It has been the butt of jokes at home for a very long time. The colour and a funny taste of raw beets is a real issue.

      Like

  4. eclecticlamb says:

    I never tried beets in pie. The hand pies look cute an delicious! Might be fun for a picnic.

    Like

  5. asha says:

    I am now reminded of eating beetroot cutlets in Indian Coffee house, they tasted delicious..the beetroot and pie combination is unique..never had before, must try it.

    Like

  6. navane64 says:

    Very interesting because compared to the usual vegetables or potatoes stuffing, I love the creativity of using the beets.

    Like

  7. Shanthi says:

    Wow..so beautiful and cute pie..good effort..

    Like

  8. afracooking says:

    Finally spring seems to be arriving here. This dish is making me dream of summer picnics and road trips! It has gone straight on my to-do list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

