Sugar Cookies for Santa!

IMG_0156

The end of the world is postponed, therefore, I proceeded to make Sugar Cookies to turn the day a wee bit sweeter. I’m intentionally not mentioning my sugar addiction here but I cannot forget a little boy, who said I was high on Froot Loops when I behaved hyper enthusiastic the other day…sob…sob!

Okay, back to cookies…These are for Santa! I will put a jug of milk along with it, for he is a big man. The trouble is, I don’t have a chimney for Santa to come down into my house. I don’t even have enough driveway to park his reindeer but I believe in Santa because I saw him at the shopping mall holding crying children for a photo session.  So, I made some cookies and spread colorful icing on them with unsteady hands. No one can resist fun, soon my daughter joined in. Well, I never told her not to play with food! The two of us spent some quality time icing, teasing, and laughing. Eventually, she disappeared when it was time for clean up!

1 cookki

Sugar cookie ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. Cream butter and sugar together until smooth and fluffy
  2. Beat in egg and add vanilla essence to it and continue mixing.
  3. Add baking powder and sift the flour.
  4. Mix the egg and flour mixture and add milk to form a soft dough.
  5. Divide dough in half for quick cooling and wrap each in plastic wrap to refrigerate for an hour or overnight.
  6. Roll out dough to 1/4 inch thickness and refrigerate for another 3o minutes.
  7. Cut the dough into heart shapes and place them on two greased baking sheets.
  8. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  9. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes until edges turn golden.
  10. Allow the cookies to cool completely before icing.

Baked1

Royal icing from   http://www.enjoy-how-to-cook.com/royal-icing-recipe.html

  • 1 large egg white or 1/4 cup pasteurized egg whites
  • 2 tsp lemon juice, strained
  • 3 cups icing sugar/powdered sugar
  • red and green food colours
  1. Beat the egg whites and the lemon juice using electric mixer.
  2. Add the sifted icing sugar and beat on low speed until smooth.
  3. The consistency should be right to maintain the shape of a string for the border. Add more sugar if needed to get it.
  4. Icing can be a little watery for flooding the center.
  5. Transfer into smaller container to add colours.
  6. Use small plastic bags to fill the icing, tie the open end, and cut the tip to draw the border with the thicker icing.
  7. Allow it to dry a bit and then fill the center.
  8. Fill the center of the cookie with the softer icing using a spoon or plastic bag with a wider opening.
  9. Let the icing flood and spread inside the border.
  10. Leave the iced cookies overnight for the icing to dry and harden.

1cokCan Santa resist my cookie hearts?

I am not sure if I was totally nice to get a gift from him though!

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Baked, Cookies, Snack and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sugar Cookies for Santa!

  1. Balvinder says:

    The cookies look pretty even though you said you iced with unsteady hand.I am not crazy about coconut but I developed high taste for it when I lived in South.

    Like

  2. coconutcraze says:

    Thank you for your nice words. Coconut paste and milk thickens the gravy and imparts a rich creamy taste. I love your recipes…especially the sweets. Btw, I lived in B.C for a year and a half…in Surrey and worked in Burnaby.

    Like

  3. coconutcraze says:

    i love B.C with great passion because it was the first part of Canada I toured intensively…like The Rockies, Kelowna, Vernon etc. Gives me goose pimples thinking and recollecting. I have many friends in B.C and a very close family friend in Surrey. I will let you know when I come visiting. Thank you for the invite and you are welcome home if you happen to be in Toronto anytime. Just let me know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

