Quick breakfast and a short trip

Niagara Falls

1break

Cinnamon toast

  • 1 slice whole wheat bread
  • 1 tsp melted butter
  • a pinch cinnamon powder
  • 1/2 tsp powdered sugar

Mix butter, cinnamon powder and sugar and spread on both sides of the bread slice. Then toast the bread until it browns.

Omelet

  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp chopped onion
  • 1 green chilly chopped
  • 2 curry leaves
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

Beat the egg and add onion, green chilly and curry leaves chopped into fine pieces. Heat coconut oil in a frying pan and pour the mixture. When one side is cooked sprinkle salt and pepper on the raw side. Flip it to the other side and poke holes with a fork to let the steam out and cook well. Serve it warm.

I had a hurried breakfast of cinnamon toast, coffee, orange slices and egg omelet…why this rush? I had promised a friend to accompany her family to Niagara.

I did not mind the nip in the air! The roof top covered in snow was not a big deal! The weather man threatening with the approaching winter was not an issue!

Niagara falls has always enticed me. I was like a drunken monkey bitten by a scorpion because of all the excitement and a collage of images in my mind. My love for Niagara Falls never dies. It is one sanctuary with a million expressions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had fallen for it the first time I saw it on an extreme wintry day. The rails near the Fall had frozen and was enveloped in an icy crust. They looked like curly iron grills dipped in ice batter and fried to perfection. I assume, that was the coldest day in February because a freezing rain followed and we had to run to shelter.

The next trip was delightful, on a nice spring morning when the magnolias were heavy with pink blossoms and swayed in the cold air. I shook the cherry trees wrapped in flowers in the parking lot and was showered with white petals until I was tired.

The following visit was when the summer crowd was heard above the roaring water. It was the time I decided to have a closer encounter with the Falls and got into a boat for a half hour thrill.  We felt immensely powerless before the giant while moving towards the Fall with the heavy spray blinding all of us in the ‘Maid of the Mist’.

1 fa

At night, the color lights illuminating make the water glow in a mystic charm and that is  another kind of drama. Am I satisfied? No, I can watch it fall a thousand times and feel ecstatic every time!

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

