Cranberry coconut chutney

Raw Cranberry is a super-fruit rich in vitamins, minerals and antioxidants. Autumn is its harvest season when the fruits turn deep red with a white flesh and a soft seed inside.

The unexpectedness of this fruit has given me a bad experience earlier on my first taste test. I considered it to be sweet like raspberries and blueberries but the sourness was like a sting on those sweet nerve ending I have all over my tongue. I was a bit confused how to treat this berry and I never ventured to buy them again.

After reading about the nutritive benefits of this berry I decided to give it a place on my dining table. October market is flooded with  red cranberries and I could not resist any more and I bought some. I had a hearty laugh at my daughter who tasted a berry and her facial muscles puckered into a sour expression. So, I added coconut and raisins to tone it down and made a chutney and everyone at home is asking for more now.

Ingredients for the chutney

1 cup fresh cranberries
½ cup shredded coconut
1 tablespoon golden raisins
2 dried red chillies
a small piece ginger
salt to taste

For Tempering:

2 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 dried red chilly
Few curry leaves

  1. Put the cranberries, coconut, red chillies, raisins  and ginger in a small blender/mixer and grind to a coarse paste.
  2. Transfer it to a bowl and to temper it heat coconut oil in a small pan.
  3. Add the mustard to the hot oil and allow it to crackle. It’s good to cover it loosely with a lid as the mustard will splutter all over.
  4. Break the chilly  and throw into the oil with the curry leaves. When it turns crispy pour it over the chutney and mix well.

Cranberry coconut chutney

This is a zesty chutney that adds flavor to many main dishes and snacks. The color is so appealing and with its irresistible taste I will be making a lot of it.

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Chutney and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cranberry coconut chutney

  1. Bharathy says:

    This is a sexy combo! 🙂 Love the colour and can imagine the taste!

    Glad you tried the appam. 🙂 oh yeah it’s quite oily and I dont think I’ve ever tried it after I’d blogged about it. 😉 but this rice flour, jaggery..coconut batter always have an affinity for oil when immersed 😉 ..making a thicker batter would absorb less oil but the texture will the poor..
    Once in a while a fine textured appam with oil is ok, right? 🙂

    Like

  2. coconutcraze says:

    Oh yeah, I had the last appam right now with the free lip gloss. It tastes so good…I am surely making them again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

