Coconut bun

Coconut bun is my favourite childhood snack and is still sweet in my memories. As a kid I used to cling on to my dad’s finger and point at the bun in the glass shelf with eager eyes. The tea stall/bakery owner would pull out a slice and wrap it in a piece of newspaper and hand it to me. Biting into the sweet, fluffy bun was the happiest kid with the heartiest smile.

Last vacation, I went home and bought a whole big bun and ate most of it. Ah…it was so satiating.

Here in Canada, I have been looking for coconut buns and found some in a store but they were the smaller individual buns with a smear of coconut in the center. Quite disappointing…so, I decided to make my own. Baking a large coconut bun made me go back to those bun days. I sent one to a friend who shares this secret yearning for coconut buns.

Ingredients:

½ cup warm milk

2 tbsp. butter
1 large egg
½ tsp. salt
2 cups bread flour/ all-purpose flour
¼ cup sugar
1½ tbsp. yeast

Filling
1 cup coconut grated
¼ cup sugar

1 tbsp raisins
1 tsp. cardamom powder

Glazing:
2 tbsp. egg white
soft butter for brushing

A teaspoon white sesame seeds to sprinkle on top

  1. Whisk together the milk, egg, sugar, and salt.
  2. Stir the yeast into the warm water and let it dissolve in a large bowl.
  3. Add the whisked ingredients to the dissolved yeast and mix.
  4. Knead for 10 minutes until it stops sticking to the hand.
  5. Put the dough in the mixing bowl and allow it to rise in a warm place. It should double its size.
  6. Divide the dough into 2 equal halves
  7. Dust the work surface with a little flour and flaten it into 2 large circles
  8. On the base circle spread the stuffing leaving the edges.
  9. Spread the other circle on it and seal the edges gently.
  10. Allow it to rest and rise on a baking tray sprayed with oil.
  11. Brush the top with 2 tbsp egg white and sprinkle the sesame seeds
  12. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  13. Bake the coconut bun for 20 minutes until the top turns golden brown.
  14. Remove from the oven and brush with a little butter

Slice the bun after it cools and tell me if you enjoyed it.

(Recently I got this contraption called automatic breadmaker  that makes the whole process easier…Thanks to my husband who was insisting on buying one to eat healthy homemade bread but we still buy from the store for the mere convenience and the neat slices.)

If using the bread machine add all the ingredients in order and mix for an hour and 30 minutes. It will rise, and then follow the steps 6-14.

Delicious coconut treat! Tea times were made for it!

About coconutcraze

I'm obsessed with coconuts!
This entry was posted in Baked, Dessert, Not just for kids, Snack and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Coconut bun

  1. Bharathy says:

    I am a fan of coconut..this can never overkill me even if i have it three times a day!! 🙂 i love this bun too!! interesting to know about the bread maker. post about it more, wont you!! with a pictorial..step by step so that we can also think about getting one!

    Like

  2. coconutcraze says:

    Sure I will…the breadmaker has made the kneading process a breeze. I can forget about my bread until it bakes and beeps. But I like to transfer the rising dough to the oven to bake as the crust is harder when baked in the breadmaker.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    HI I wish the recipe wasn’t so confusing 😑There s no water in the ingredients and u r asking to mix yeast in water ? How much water ? Also u r asking to knead b4 adding the flour ? Not very clear recipe ! 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

